G5 The Middle Game of Go, Sakata Eio

Item No.: 100386

From former Ishi Press, reprint published by The Kiseido Publishing Company.
First print 1971, written by Sakata 'the Razor' Eio 9-dan Honinbo. Fourth print 2007, reprint of that version in 2015. 145 pages.

ISBN 978-0-923891-77-0

From the backside of the book:

"Sakata Eio is regarded as one of the strongest go players of the 20th century. He was born on February 15, 1920 in Tokyo, Japan. After winning most of the major titles in the 1950s, in 1961 he finally took the Honinbo title from Takagawa Kaku who had held it for a record nine consecutive terms. In 1963, Sakata captured the Meijin title, making him the first player simultaneously to hold the two titles Meijin-Honinbo.

Sakata's peak came in 1964, when he won 30 games and lost only two and held seven major titles: Meijin, Honinbo, Nihon Ki-in Championship, Asahi Pro Best Ten, Oza, Nihon Kiin Number One, and NHK Cup.

This book, "the Middle Game of Go" or "Chubansen", first published in 1971, was Sakata's third book published in English, the first being "Modern Joseki and Fuseki, volume 1" and the second being "Modern Joseki and Fuseki, volume 2". These volumes are now regarded as classics in Go Literature. They are also the first books published by the Ishi Press."


Sold Out

Add to wishlist
Reviews ()
G5 The Middle Game of Go, Sakata Eio does not have any reviews yet. Share your experiences and post a review.
G5 The Middle Game of Go, Sakata Eio

Matching Products For:

Alternative Products For:


Tel: +31-206241171

Haarlemmerdijk 173

1013 KH Amsterdam

Email: info@schaakengo.nl

Opening Hours:

monday:       13.00 - 18.00
tuesday:       10.00 - 18.00
wednesday: 10.00 - 18.00
thursday:     10.00 - 18.00
friday:          10.00 - 18.00
saturday:     10.00 - 18.00
sunday:       12.00 - 17.00

Last viewed items